Data / Carriers / Virginia / L L Carter & Son Inc
L L Carter & Son Inc: USDOT 591463, Ruther Glen, VA
Updated November 7, 2026. Source: US Department of Transportation, FMCSA Motor Carrier Census, Inspection, Crash and Licensing files.
L L Carter & Son Inc (USDOT 591463) is an interstate carrier in Ruther Glen, VA, registered with FMCSA with 33 power units and 31 drivers as it reports them. FMCSA recorded 18 roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026, the latest on August 11, 2026. Its vehicle out of service rate was 22.2% against 22.9% for all carriers (2 of 9 vehicle inspections). The states reported 6 crashes in the same period, with 0 deaths and 3 injuries.
The request: Watch L L Carter & Son Inc (USDOT 591463): each new inspection, crash and authority change. $10 of work on sign-up, no card.
SpecStream is the live web data engine for teams and agents. It reads the carrier register, roadside inspections, crashes and operating authority that FMCSA publishes, and this page is that reading. Ask for the carriers you sell to or insure by state, city, cargo or fleet size, and new inspections, crashes and authority changes arrive in your sheet, CRM, Slack or agent as FMCSA posts them.
- USDOT number
- 591463
- Location
- 17460 Countyline Church Road, Ruther Glen, VA 22546
- Phone
- (804) 448 3994
- Operation
- Interstate; for hire
- Docket
- MC 287538
- Operating authority
- Active contract carrier authority for property; revocation pending
- Liability insurance on file
- $750,000 (bodily injury and property damage)
- Power units
- 33
- Drivers
- 31 (31 with a commercial licence)
- Miles reported
- 2,258,641 in 2022
- Cargo carried
- General freight, Logs, poles, beams and lumber, Building materials, Machinery and large objects, Garbage, refuse and trash, Dry bulk commodities, Pipe
- Last registration update
- June 16, 2025
- In the FMCSA register since
- February 22, 1995
- FMCSA safety measurement page
- ai.fmcsa.dot.gov
Inspections and out of service rates
Roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. The national rate is the rate across every carrier in the same window.
| Measure | Inspections | Out of service | Rate | National rate | Against national |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle inspections | 9 | 2 | 22.2% | 22.9% | 0.7 points below the national rate |
| Driver inspections | 18 | 1 | 5.6% | 6.3% | 0.7 points below the national rate |
| All inspections, any out of service order | 18 | 3 | 16.7% | 19.4% |
Crashes
6 crashes reported from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026.
| Date | City | State | Deaths | Injuries | Towed away |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 20, 2025 | Hanover | VA | 0 | 0 | Yes |
| November 4, 2025 | Not Reported | VA | 0 | 0 | Yes |
| October 31, 2025 | Not Reported | VA | 0 | 1 | Yes |
| August 28, 2025 | Not Reported | VA | 0 | 1 | Yes |
| March 25, 2025 | VA | 0 | 1 | Yes | |
| February 11, 2025 | VA | 0 | 0 | Yes |
The carrier's full record on the FMCSA safety measurement page
Also on SpecStream
- Carriers in Virginia
- New trucking companies in Virginia
- General freight carriers in Virginia
- Logs, poles, beams and lumber carriers in Virginia
- Building materials carriers in Virginia
Public domain (U.S. government work). Inspection and crash counts cover November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. Fleet size, drivers, cargo and operation are as each carrier reports them to FMCSA and can be out of date. A vehicle or driver out of service order means an inspector ordered the vehicle or driver off the road until the problem was fixed. The national rate comes from every inspection in the same window. Crashes are those state police reported to FMCSA and are not a finding of fault. This page uses US Department of Transportation data and is not endorsed or certified by the Department of Transportation or FMCSA. Free to reuse with credit to SpecStream under CC BY 4.0. Spot a wrong value? Write to [email protected] with the link to this page.