Skip to the page

Data / Carriers / Virginia / Carter Machinery Company Inc

Carter Machinery Company Inc: USDOT 32541, Salem, VA

Updated November 7, 2026. Source: US Department of Transportation, FMCSA Motor Carrier Census, Inspection, Crash and Licensing files.

Carter Machinery Company Inc (USDOT 32541) is an interstate carrier in Salem, VA, registered with FMCSA with 713 power units and 606 drivers as it reports them. FMCSA recorded 204 roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026, the latest on November 3, 2026. Its vehicle out of service rate was 6.7% against 22.9% for all carriers (10 of 149 vehicle inspections). The states reported 14 crashes in the same period, with 0 deaths and 11 injuries.

The request: Watch Carter Machinery Company Inc (USDOT 32541): each new inspection, crash and authority change. $10 of work on sign-up, no card.

SpecStream is the live web data engine for teams and agents. It reads the carrier register, roadside inspections, crashes and operating authority that FMCSA publishes, and this page is that reading. Ask for the carriers you sell to or insure by state, city, cargo or fleet size, and new inspections, crashes and authority changes arrive in your sheet, CRM, Slack or agent as FMCSA posts them.

USDOT number
32541
Location
1330 Lynchburg Tpke, Salem, VA 24153
Phone
(540) 387 1111
Operation
Interstate; private property
Operating authority
No active operating authority on file with FMCSA
Power units
713
Drivers
606 (424 with a commercial licence)
Miles reported
13,950,000 in 2025
Cargo carried
Motor vehicles, Machinery and large objects, Liquids and gases, Unspecified
Hazardous materials
Yes, as the carrier reports
Compliance review rating
Conditional (September 10, 1987)
Last registration update
January 29, 2026
In the FMCSA register since
June 1, 1974
FMCSA safety measurement page
ai.fmcsa.dot.gov

Inspections and out of service rates

Roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. The national rate is the rate across every carrier in the same window.

MeasureInspectionsOut of serviceRateNational rateAgainst national
Vehicle inspections149106.7%22.9%16.2 points below the national rate
Driver inspections20442%6.3%4.3 points below the national rate
All inspections, any out of service order204125.9%19.4%

Crashes

14 crashes reported from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026; the newest 10 are listed.

DateCityStateDeathsInjuriesTowed away
October 1, 2026Not ReportedVA00Yes
September 2, 2026Not ReportedVA01Yes
August 24, 2026Not ReportedVA03Yes
August 24, 2026Not ReportedVA03Yes
July 21, 2026Not ReportedVA01Yes
June 30, 2026NorfolkVA01No
March 24, 2026ClintonMD00Yes
January 30, 2026Not ReportedVA00Yes
December 19, 2025PointsWV01Yes
October 7, 2025Newport NewsVA00Yes

The carrier's full record on the FMCSA safety measurement page

Also on SpecStream

Public domain (U.S. government work). Inspection and crash counts cover November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. Fleet size, drivers, cargo and operation are as each carrier reports them to FMCSA and can be out of date. A vehicle or driver out of service order means an inspector ordered the vehicle or driver off the road until the problem was fixed. The national rate comes from every inspection in the same window. Crashes are those state police reported to FMCSA and are not a finding of fault. This page uses US Department of Transportation data and is not endorsed or certified by the Department of Transportation or FMCSA. Free to reuse with credit to SpecStream under CC BY 4.0. Spot a wrong value? Write to [email protected] with the link to this page.