Skip to the page

Data / Carriers / Georgia / Norfolk Southern Railway Company

Norfolk Southern Railway Company: USDOT 322521, Atlanta, GA

Updated November 7, 2026. Source: US Department of Transportation, FMCSA Motor Carrier Census, Inspection, Crash and Licensing files.

Norfolk Southern Railway Company (USDOT 322521) is an interstate carrier in Atlanta, GA, registered with FMCSA with 4,593 power units and 1,658 drivers as it reports them. FMCSA recorded 259 roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026, the latest on October 29, 2026. Its vehicle out of service rate was 14.9% against 22.9% for all carriers (22 of 148 vehicle inspections). The states reported 18 crashes in the same period, with 0 deaths and 10 injuries.

The request: Watch Norfolk Southern Railway Company (USDOT 322521): each new inspection, crash and authority change. $10 of work on sign-up, no card.

SpecStream is the live web data engine for teams and agents. It reads the carrier register, roadside inspections, crashes and operating authority that FMCSA publishes, and this page is that reading. Ask for the carriers you sell to or insure by state, city, cargo or fleet size, and new inspections, crashes and authority changes arrive in your sheet, CRM, Slack or agent as FMCSA posts them.

USDOT number
322521
Also does business as
Norfolk Southern
Location
650 W Peachtree ST, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone
(800) 635 5768
Operation
Interstate; private property
Operating authority
No active operating authority on file with FMCSA
Power units
4,593, of which 65 buses
Drivers
1,658 (1,658 with a commercial licence)
Miles reported
10,025,423 in 2025
Cargo carried
General freight, Logs, poles, beams and lumber, Building materials, Machinery and large objects, Liquids and gases, Intermodal containers, Passengers, Railroad Equipment, Iep
Hazardous materials
Yes, as the carrier reports
Last registration update
January 23, 2026
In the FMCSA register since
July 28, 1988
FMCSA safety measurement page
ai.fmcsa.dot.gov

Inspections and out of service rates

Roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. The national rate is the rate across every carrier in the same window.

MeasureInspectionsOut of serviceRateNational rateAgainst national
Vehicle inspections1482214.9%22.9%8.0 points below the national rate
Driver inspections25972.7%6.3%3.6 points below the national rate
All inspections, any out of service order2592710.4%19.4%

Crashes

18 crashes reported from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026; the newest 10 are listed.

DateCityStateDeathsInjuriesTowed away
July 22, 2026AtlantaGA00Yes
July 8, 2026CharlestonTN01Yes
June 1, 2026ElktonMD00Yes
May 19, 2026Not ReportedVA01Yes
May 10, 2026GA00Yes
April 2, 2026MishawakaIN00Yes
January 30, 2026Not ReportedVA00Yes
January 14, 2026Not ReportedVA01Yes
December 10, 2025ShelbinaMO02Yes
September 15, 2025AshlandKY01Yes

The carrier's full record on the FMCSA safety measurement page

Also on SpecStream

Public domain (U.S. government work). Inspection and crash counts cover November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. Fleet size, drivers, cargo and operation are as each carrier reports them to FMCSA and can be out of date. A vehicle or driver out of service order means an inspector ordered the vehicle or driver off the road until the problem was fixed. The national rate comes from every inspection in the same window. Crashes are those state police reported to FMCSA and are not a finding of fault. This page uses US Department of Transportation data and is not endorsed or certified by the Department of Transportation or FMCSA. Free to reuse with credit to SpecStream under CC BY 4.0. Spot a wrong value? Write to [email protected] with the link to this page.