Skip to the page

Data / Carriers / Maryland / Cowan Systems LLC

Cowan Systems LLC, Baltimore, MD: USDOT 548880, 1,882 power units, 2,159 inspections, 129 crashes

Cowan Systems LLC (USDOT 548880) is an interstate carrier in Baltimore, MD, registered with FMCSA with 1,882 power units and 1,882 drivers as it reports them. FMCSA recorded 2,159 roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026, the latest on November 3, 2026. Its vehicle out of service rate was 22.4% against 22.9% for all carriers (259 of 1,156 vehicle inspections). The states reported 129 crashes in the same period, with 3 deaths and 67 injuries.

SpecStream is the live web data engine for teams and agents. It reads the carrier register, roadside inspections, crashes and operating authority that FMCSA publishes, and this page is that reading. Ask for the carriers you sell to or insure by state, city, cargo or fleet size, and new inspections, crashes and authority changes arrive in your sheet, CRM, Slack or agent as FMCSA posts them.

USDOT number
548880
Location
4555 Hollins Ferry Road, Baltimore, MD 21227
Phone
(410) 247 0800
Operation
Interstate; for hire
Docket
MC 271882
Operating authority
Active common carrier and contract carrier and broker authority for property
Liability insurance on file
$1,000,000 (bodily injury and property damage)
Power units
1,882
Drivers
1,882 (1,882 with a commercial licence)
Miles reported
143,732,615 in 2024
Cargo carried
General freight, Metal sheets, coils and rolls, Fresh produce, Intermodal containers, Chemicals, Refrigerated food, Beverages, Paper products
Hazardous materials
Yes, as the carrier reports
Compliance review rating
Satisfactory (September 7, 2006)
Last registration update
April 28, 2026
In the FMCSA register since
January 28, 1994
FMCSA safety measurement page
ai.fmcsa.dot.gov

Inspections and out of service rates

Roadside inspections from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. The national rate is the rate across every carrier in the same window.

MeasureInspectionsOut of serviceRateNational rateAgainst national
Vehicle inspections1,15625922.4%22.9%0.5 points below the national rate
Driver inspections2,159170.8%6.3%5.5 points below the national rate
All inspections, any out of service order2,15927112.6%19.4%

Crashes

129 crashes reported from November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026; the newest 10 are listed.

DateCityStateDeathsInjuriesTowed away
October 29, 2026Not ReportedVA00Yes
October 22, 2026Woolwich TownshipNJ00Yes
September 28, 2026Upper Dublin TownshipPA01Yes
September 24, 2026Not ReportedVA00Yes
September 16, 2026Bowling GreenKY01Yes
August 26, 2026ArbutusMD00Yes
August 13, 2026FairburnGA00Yes
August 11, 2026Summerfield TwpMI00Yes
August 7, 2026BeltsvilleMD02Yes
July 30, 2026WestportCT00Yes

The carrier's full record on the FMCSA safety measurement page

Also on SpecStream

Updated November 7, 2026. Read from US Department of Transportation, FMCSA Motor Carrier Census, Inspection, Crash and Licensing files. Public domain (U.S. government work). Inspection and crash counts cover November 7, 2024 to November 7, 2026. Fleet size, drivers, cargo and operation are as each carrier reports them to FMCSA and can be out of date. A vehicle or driver out of service order means an inspector ordered the vehicle or driver off the road until the problem was fixed. The national rate comes from every inspection in the same window. Crashes are those state police reported to FMCSA and are not a finding of fault. This page uses US Department of Transportation data and is not endorsed or certified by the Department of Transportation or FMCSA. Free to reuse with credit to SpecStream under CC BY 4.0. Spot a wrong value? Write to [email protected] with the link to this page.